Day off diary – cooking

Roth’s Fresh Markets had their pick-five meat sale again, so of course I got Mo’s clam chowder base and some meat to try cooking with.

The ingredients:

  • Painted Hills natural beef
  • Carrots
  • Swanson beef broth
  • Lawry’s garlic salt
  • Healthy Harvest whole grain pasta
Fooood

Ingredients

As with all my cooking attempts, I definitely made it up as I went.

  1. First, I cut up the carrots and sauteed them with garlic salt. Then I added the beef until it was mostly cooked (I think).
  2. In a separate pot, I began boiling all the beef broth and some pasta.
  3. I added the two together and boiled it for a while.

That’s when the dog came in and started sniffing around. Memo to me, don’t leave a pot of boiling pasta unattended (or anything you’re cooking, for that matter) because it boils over and floods the stove top.

Overall, it isn’t bad. It’s definitely better than that time I made pita bread instead of pancakes.

Talk to me!

