Wine tasting expeditions – Troon

Troon Vineyard has the first Southern Oregon wines that I’ve liked. Given, I haven’t tasted that many, but these were definitely the top of the list. The wine that stuck out the most to me was their 2010 Cabernet Franc Reserve. Whereas ours is pretty, with bright fruit and floral notes (all good), theirs took a completely different approach, with more masculine notes, earth and spice–and a little bit of green pepper! I learned today that although green pepper in Cabernet Sauvignon is a flaw, it’s varietally correct in Cabernet Franc (some prefer it in smaller doses). I have also heard good things about their Zinfandel, but it wasn’t the stand out wine today. I think the Zin may have been opened a few days, whereas the tasting room manager (who I know from Linfield!) opened the Cab Franc for the tasting 🙂

IMG02086-20130528-2238We traded a bottle (I can’t wait to taste the Cab Franc with the Seven of Hearts team) and I got a bottle of their 2012 Semi-Sparkling White Wine (I think I’ll be in the mood for a little wine infused with freshly picked raspberries this summer) and their 2011 Druid’s Fluid Red. It isn’t a wine you want to lay down for too long, but it’s so accessible and easy to drink–the perfect wine for beginner tasters (and graduation celebrations are approaching). It’s also got a nice sweetness to it because of how they ferment the Merlot that goes into it (they use thick ice to keep it cool and slow the ferment way down).

They have such a large selection of wines that I didn’t even make it to the dessert wines before I stopped for the sake of my palate. I look forward to tasting the rest of their wines soon.

You can find their tasting room right off downtown Carlton at 250 N. Kutch St. Carlton, OR 97111. They are normally open Friday to Monday 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., but their summer hours are 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

One thought on “Wine tasting expeditions – Troon

  1. Pingback: List of Willamette Valley Oregon wineries | Rachel Andrea Ko Go

Talk to me!

