Wine tasting expeditions – Walnut City Wineworks

Today I went to the Walnut City Wineworks tasting room in McMinnville. They have a vineyard management program that means they work with more than 200 vineyards, to create a diverse array of great wine.

There are a number of labels represented in the Walnut City Wineworks tasting room, I just tried the Walnut City flight today. All of their price points were incredibly reasonable, and I walked away with a 2008 and 2007 Pinot Noir for less than $50, even before industry discount.

Their 2012 Hodgepodge is a white blend of Pinot Gris, Gewurztraminer, Chardonnay, Riesling and Auxerrois. It’s sweet, has a lovely bouquet and is a refreshing summer wine. Their 2012 Gewurztraminer was dry compared to the Hodgepodge, but still slightly sweet. The aromatics didn’t impress me, but I didn’t give it much time to open up. It had an interesting finish that I wasn’t necessarily fond of, but I enjoyed it more than Hyland’s version of Gewurztraminer. The 2012 Rosé of Pinot Noir was interesting. I do not tend to like rosés; the only one I could tolerate was our Rosé of Pinot Noir and the only one I liked was our Rosé of Cabernet Franc. I did like their rosé though. I thought it was too sweet at first, but it finished with a sour note. Their 2012 Dolcetto was a young red. Dolcetto, literally translated means “little sweet one” in Italian. It could take four to six months from production to bottle, whereas some of the more complex reds could take as much as a year or two. It’s balanced and good for everyday drinking. Sweet, hints of raspberry with a tart plum finish. I like the nose on it. I think a few months of aging would do it wonders.

Before we moved on to the 2008 Pinot Noir Reserve, I tasted their 2011 Pinot Noir. It has wonderful pepper, and tasting it after the Dolcetto (which was good) made me appreciate Pinot Noir that much more. It’s truly a different wine, structured, delicate, complex. We finished with the 2008 Pinot Noir, which has a nice nose but I didn’t like the finish at first. It got better over time, showing that it has enough structure to age well, so I got a bottle to lay down. I also got a bottle of 2007 Z’ivo Pinot Noir without tasting it because I am interested in the 07 vintage. I tried one from Rex Hill earlier this year and it was incredible, so I’d like to try more of that vintage.

IMG_1884You can find the Walnut City Wineworks tasting room at 475 NE 17th St. McMinnville, OR. They are open from 11 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Thursday to Sunday.

One thought on “Wine tasting expeditions – Walnut City Wineworks

  1. Pingback: List of Willamette Valley Oregon wineries | Rachel Andrea Ko Go

Talk to me!

