Post-grad trip – Universal Studios and Lawry’s Prime Rib

I realize this comes a tad late, but I was fortunate enough to travel to Southern California with my sister and brother-in-law for my post-graduation trip! Food- and fun-filled days. Read more about the adventure below!

The main reason I went was to eat at Lawry’s Prime Rib, a restaurant from my childhood. Not only is the prime rib amazing, I love love LOVE their creamed corn! Their prices are a bit high (see menu) but if you want to try some of their delicious food in a more casual setting, you can also go to The Tam O’Shanter, another restaurant owned by the same corporation that has pretty much equally superb food.

1370498293921

Lawry’s cut, done English style. Medium well, with a side of creamed corn. I’m drooling.

Another fun thing we were able to do included going to Universal Studios. Their studio tour ride is always a classic, and King Kong in 360 3-D  is amazing! We enjoyed the Transformers ride in 3-D, and my personal favorite (although it made all of us dizzy) was The Simpsons Ride. Least favorite ride was Revenge of the Mummy – The Ride. I screamed all the way through it and my sister said it sounded like surround sound.

One of the more hilarious scenes of the day occurred during WaterWorld, where a regal, dignified and quite majestic-looking older Indian woman was sitting beside me, dressed in a traditional purple sari, dripping wet and completely indifferent, as if she wasn’t soaking wet.

To top the trip off, we tried ice cream made using liquid nitrogen at Ice Cream Lab.

Finally, the trip wouldn’t be complete unless I tried some of this California chardonnay that I’ve been hearing so much about! While waiting for my flight back to Portland, I got a glass of 2009 Buccio Chardonnay from Carneros. Not my favorite, but interesting and educational to see this oak and butter people keep talking about.

Talk to me!

