Intimidation in your field

I was chatting with a friend who was recently hired at Eyrie Vineyards to handle their marketing functions. She was telling me about how qualified everyone at work is. She, like me, is fresh out of college (she spent a year as a receptionist at the local high school) and jumped straight into the wine industry.

Newcomers to the wine industry in Oregon may quickly find that this is a second career for almost everyone in the field. Everyone knows how to do something else; someone worked in the IT industry, someone used to be a doctor, someone was in a band, someone speaks Spanish and French, someone worked for a newspaper, someone owned their own restaurant, someone used to be a teacher, the list goes on.

The main thing to do for me has been to acknowledge that I’m in an industry full of amazing successful people, and accept that I’m pretty much constantly going to be in awe of the people I work with. Once I made my peace with being perpetually intimidated, it became less intimidating.

Talk to me!

