Wine tasting expeditions – Vista Hills

Vista Hills Vineyard & Winery is one of those destination wineries at the end of a looong gravel road (if you make the mistake of taking the long way, like I did). The views are wonderful, though. I enjoyed their Rosé of Pinot noir more than their Rosé of Pinot gris (an orange wine, a trend in the wine industry lately), and out of all their reds I enjoyed their Skyraider Pinot noir the best.

The tasting was a little off for me because all of their red wines have an unpleasant aroma that comes from late/heavy sulfur addition to preserve the wines. All wineries do this, but for some reason the Vista Hills wines had a particularly notable smell. When I asked about it, I was told that the smell would “blow-off,” meaning it will go away with a few years in-bottle, or through decanting. The Treehouse Pinot noir that I tried from them had an interesting minerality/earth that went poorly with the smell. Other than that one particular Pinot noir, all their wines tasted fine.

It was valuable to taste their wines just because they’re so different. I don’t think I’ve had wine quite like that in Oregon, so it’s educational to see all the different wines Oregon can produce.

Visit them any day between noon to 5 p.m. at 6475 Hilltop Lane in Dayton, Oregon, 97114.

One thought on “Wine tasting expeditions – Vista Hills

  1. Pingback: List of Willamette Valley Oregon wineries | Rachel Andrea Ko Go

Talk to me!

