Adventures in Oregon – Carlton summer nights

Carlton is a town filled end-to-end with tasting rooms, most of which close at around 5 p.m. I suspected that the town fell asleep at 5, once the wine stopped pouring, but it turns out there is wine to be had until much later in the evening. In fact, there was a surprising amount of things to do after I got off work at 6 p.m.

My coworker invited me to join her and her partner for a glass of wine at Troon Vineyard, who is hosting their Carlton Courtyard Concert Series. Mary Kadderly & Dan Gildea were playing and I had a glass of Troon’s Rosé, which I don’t think was on the menu that evening but was open…? I am not going to lie, I was a bit tipsy at the end of the night so I forgot to ask. Anyways, it was a great wine to sit down with and enjoy the music in Troon’s lovely courtyard. Visit their event calendar to see what other dates you can catch some music from 4 to 7 p.m. in the courtyard. They have some nice glass pours, meat and cheese plates and an assortment of goodies to choose from. If you aren’t hungry or thirsty, it’s only a $5 cover charge to enjoy the summer evening sun and listen to some nice music.

After that a friend in the industry invited me to listen to some live music at the Horse Radish, who hosts live music on Friday and Saturday from 7 to 10 p.m. year-round. If you ever go, get their meat and cheese plate–it’s a tiny piece of heaven served on a wooden plate. They also carry some uncommon wines, such as the wonderful, fruit-balanced, bright 2011 Pinot noir from Marshall Davis that my friend picked out for us. There were only 150 cases of the 2011 Pinot noir La Colina Vineyard in Dundee, so if you get a chance I highly recommend getting a bottle. Their most recent vintage before that was in 2009, which has no doubt been long sold out.

IMG02487-20130720-1927In addition to the great wine, we ordered a meat and cheese plate of Oregon blue, Humboldt Fog, triple cream brie, truffle stack (I loooove truffle cheeses) and sopressata salami. Absolutely delicious. Foodie dream. There are a hundred other mouthwatering words to describe it, but when it comes to meat and cheese it’s so hard to go wrong, I’m sure you understand. We ordered some cakes/pies. If you go–and you should–get their dark chocolate caramel drizzled chocolate pie. It’s soft and just the essence of chocolate and caramel. Don’t even think about the calories, just go for it.

So that was my foodie adventure tonight in Carlton. Never again will I assume that Carlton gets boring in the evenings when all the tasting rooms shut down. What a great little town!

Talk to me!

