Soup’s On! – A benefit dinner

Apparently, leaving the wine industry is a little harder than I thought it would be. In the past week or so, I’ve poured at four separate events, the most recent one being Soup’s On. The perks of being OLCC certified, I suppose.

Soup’s On is an annual event (this was the first) by Yamhill Community Action Partnership (YCAP) to benefit the local Newberg community. It’s a fundraising event for YCAP’s efforts in Newberg, such as Youth Outreach (read more about them on YCAPs page about YO or visit their website). It was a fun evening of wine, soup, bread and local art. Although I didn’t have a chance to try the soup, I brought them to the event and they (and my car) smelled delicious. I was impressed with the over-attendance, and the variety of wine was spectacular.

I must confess now that although I was pouring, I didn’t expect to. I had planned on bringing some soup, helping set up, then bowing out to have dinner with a friend. However, when you’re the only one who has the license needed to legally serve the abundance of amazing alcohol at an event, there’s only one right thing to do. Therefore, I hadn’t tasted any of the wines I was pouring (except for a 2001 Eyrie Muscat). What I say next is based on the reactions people had to the wine, and which wines were most sought after.

The star of the evening was a 2009 William Hatcher Pinot Noir. The other honorable mentions are the 2008 Henry Estate Pinot Noir that, to my knowledge, is no longer being sold, and the 2007 Lange Pinot Gris. Told you we had some good stuff this evening.

The art was phenomenal as well! If you don’t already know, the Art Harvest Studio Tour is going on this weekend in Yamhill County and is a wonderful opportunity to visit local artist studios and view their work. I got to take home two beautiful bowls from Bradley Ceramics, who supplied all of the gorgeous bowls for the event.

Here is some of the other artwork photographed at the event, located at the Chehalem Cultural Center.

Talk to me!

