Rich

A short prose piece

Yesterday

I walked among statues carved into walls of a grand hotel beside the ocean.

I swam through the blue green of the sea, parting schools of fish colored with the rainbow.

I laid between satin sheets atop pillows that sunk to fit every crevice of my body with an arm draped over me as I slept.

Today

I walked along a hall with scenes around the world confined by paint and frames.

I tried my hand at roulette among artificial lights that draped over the glowing skin of everyone on exhibition in dresses not on par with mine.

I laid between silk sheets and atop a chest that moved up and down as a heartbeat stole its way into my dreams.

Tomorrow

I don’t know where I will be.

I don’t know who I will be.

I don’t know among whose company I will admire the sights there are to see.

Yesterday I was Camille.

Today I was Scarlet.

Tomorrow I will be someone new.

At the end of each day they pay me and I move on.

At the end of each day is all each one needs me until.

At the end of each day I must find a new job, have a new life, and be a new person.

At the end of each day, I must kill who I was and hope the wounds will heal themselves while I sleep.

They don’t.

Talk to me!

