Imagination

Imagination is the medium with which
Novels are born of fiction colored with truth
But darkness leaks through the pages
Poems become political pieces
Books go back to being didactic
The way they were before literature was discovered
And the lines between fiction and non-fiction explode.

I’d like to write a poem free of government commentary
Free of the endless protestors
Free of religious oppression
Free of liars and thieves.

If I can’t be free from these things in my writing
Where else can I be?

I don’t want to go out and change the world
I don’t want to be a stumbling block to people I don’t agree with
I’d rather stop the things I disagree with from damaging my soul
I’d rather just work harder for what I believe in.

If the things I hate color my words
Why would I keep writing?

Talk to me!

