Wine tasting expeditions – Longplay Wine

Longplay Wine is owned by Todd Hansen, a vinyl record enthusiast. His love for records is evident in the name of his winery and the Longplay typography (which I assume was designed to resemble a record being played). In fact, if you go into his cozy tasting room in downtown Newberg, you will see the record player featured on his label, along with an impressive collection of old vinyl records. We listened to The Beatles while we tasted wine.

Todd’s wines are elegant and unforgettable. We tried his 2011 and 2008 Chardonnays, which were done beautifully. The 2008 in particular was a wonderful surprise at a great price point. Although I promised myself I wouldn’t get anything today, Chardonnay is my weakness, so I got some (as did the two girls I tasted with). It had a lovely mouthfeel, was nice and bright, and didn’t linger too long on the palate. It reminded me of a white flower that I can’t put my finger on. Another highlight of the flight was the 2010 Pinot noir, which was smooth and easy to drink, with a little bit of almond.

You can visit their tasting room Friday to Sunday, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. at 215 E. First Street, Newberg, OR.

Talk to me!

