Obssessed with how well my boss writes

I’ve decided to just admit to my #RabidFan moments–and how weird they are. Most people obsess over sexy actors or their favorite characters in a TV show, but my fangirl moments happen when I have the honor of witnessing magnificent writing.

If there is one truth I’ve learned in the last year working for 237 Marketing + Web, it’s that Krista is an awesome-beyond-belief writer. The other day, she sent edits on something I wrote and I actually went “squee!” because she is just SO good at writing.

My mom has witnessed a few of my admiration outbursts and finally asked to read whatever I got so excited about. When I showed her a sample of my writing vs. Krista’s edits, and she said my writing was boring in comparison. This was followed by a minor panic attack on my part, because she’s right!

My professional writing style is factual, to-the-point and boring. My informal writing style, on the other hand, is spastic, filled with panic-attacks and raNdoM caPITALIZatiOn every now and then when I just HAVE to emphasize how AMAZING someone’s writing is and run on sentences when I’m freaking out and my brain is thinking too fast for punctuation.

So I’ll be working on improving my writing and studying Krista’s writing style to try and emulate it. I’d like to be able to easily switch from an effective, active writing voice that is business-professional, to an appropriate but casual tone.

I am constantly inspired to develop my writing ability thanks to her examples of (seemingly effortless) incredible storytelling. She’s a lead-by-example expert writer whom I look forward to learning even more from.

The writing project my mom read was a portfolio piece write-up for a website we recently launched. My version is below, followed by Krista’s edits.

The Kitchen at Middleground Farms – Recreational Cooking Classes

THE KITCHEN AT MIDDLEGROUND FARMS WEBSITE

The Kitchen at Middleground Farms offers recreational cooking classes that emphasize traditional cooking methods. Chef Jessica Hansen skillfully guides classes in the basics of cheesemaking, food preservation, baking and more. Find your confidence in The Kitchen after learning the science behind food and how to use local, seasonal ingredients.

Their website reflects this local culinary approach with banners across each webpage that showcase fresh ingredients, and a homepage slideshow that broadcasts Oregon bounty. The background image of barn wood subtly highlights the farm setting of The Kitchen, and the casual handwritten-like font emphasizes the fun, casual class atmosphere.

Interested site visitors can register and pay for classes online through The Kitchen at Middleground Farms website, and can add comments if they have any concerns (ie. food allergies). In addition to a list of classes and class information, the site has a chef bio page, blog, newsletter registration, contact forms, and an embedded Google map.

View Chef Jessica’s list of classes here to get started on a culinary learning adventure like none other.


Krista’s edits.

The Kitchen at Middleground Farms offers recreational cooking classes that emphasize traditional cooking methods. Students are taught the basics of cheesemaking, food preservation, baking and more from Chef Jessica Hansen, The Kitchen’s founder. Chef Jessica will teach you the science of food AND how to use local, seasonal ingredients in a supportive class setting.

Class registration is a key function of Middleground Farms’ website. Interested site visitors can sign up and pay for classes from numerous locations throughout the site. The site also features a bio page, blog, newsletter registration, contact forms, and an embedded Google map.

In addition to the site function, we love this site’s design. Page banners showcasing fresh ingredients are used to communicate Jessica’s local culinary approach plus Oregon bounty. The background image of barn wood subtly highlights the farm setting of The Kitchen, and the casual handwritten-like font emphasizes the fun, casual class atmosphere.

Curious about cooking? View Chef Jessica’s list of classes here to get started on a culinary learning adventure like none other!

SQUEE!

#RabidFan ramble over. Thanks for tuning in!

Talk to me!

