What should we even be doing at 25?

​Some of us are married with kids, some of us are Tinder veterans. Some of us are virgins, some of us have an intimate knowledge of all of our fetishes. Some of us are living at home trying to figure out what we want to do next. Some of us are young professionals with promising careers trying to figure out what we want to do next.

Many of us are turning to travel to help find ourselves and our purpose. Sometimes it’s a success, sometimes it’s just an escape, but it is one of the more popular things to do in my circle of 20-something friends. Many of them have moved away and found themselves happily occupied with learning how to succeed in a new city; finding their favorite bakeries, making friends with the local baristas, and learning the ropes in a new job.

I don’t associate new locations with new opportunities for myself, because the work I do is location-independent. As a remote worker, I can be as productive in Taipei as I can be in Portland.

The way my quarterlife crisis manifests itself isn’t by wanting to change my settings, see new things, or live somewhere completely foreign. I want to create something valuable. Not just to make money, but as my contribution to the world and my ‘out’ for myself. I can say, “here world, take this great thing I built and let that be my legacy. Don’t ask about marriage or kids, dont ask about my income. Look at this, and be satisfied, so I dont have to play the game or keep up with my generation of amazing innovators anymore.”

I don’t think we are the first generation to experience the ‘quarterlife crisis,’ but I think we are unique in that we can share it. The Internet connects us all, so that we read articles like this one, where someone your age going through relatively the same emotions can spill their guts and you go “so I’m not the only one who feels like I should be doing more at 25? Young enough to do so much, old enough to feel like time is running out.”

How have you been dealing with your quarterlife crisis? Tell me about where you are right now and what you want to do. I’ll do my best to reach out and help, even if the best I can do for you is be a listening ear. And, if you have an exciting side project idea for a remote marketer, especially if it’s in the renewable resources sector, please get in touch 🙂

Talk to me!

