Sherwood Community Hotel: Authentic, Friendly, Local

The Sherwood community hotel is a beautifully restored property that overlooks Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables range. With a focus on conservation, community, and sourcing local, it’s an excellent choice for those who want to experience Southern New Zealand.

Sherwood Community Hotel: Authentic, Friendly, Local

Although it’s outside of the city center, there are plenty of things to do. I took advantage of the free wifi and beautiful views and did some work out in the sunshine by the bar. You can also enjoy some warming spiced wine by the fireplace!

They have a sauna, a fairly advanced biking track, a delicious restaurant, and plenty of places to sit and read a book.

For those who want to experience the nightlife downtown (which is awesome, by the way), I recommend staying somewhere closer. Sherwood has a shuttle running to and from the city center, but they stop around dinnertime, after which you’ll want to grab a green cab.

Tip: If you know how to drive on the left side of the road, rent a car during your stay. (Disclaimer: don’t do it if you don’t know how to drive on the left–or at least take a driving test/course first)

Another tip: Try their restaurant. I had the lamb rump, and beetroot ricotta salad (that ricotta was amazing). My friend enjoyed the lamb and their fresh spaghetti with Sherwood greens (from their beautiful garden).

I would recommend this lovely property and their friendly staff any day. Shout out Chris, Dimitri, and to Will (who took a few days off during the remainder of my stay, but was conscientious enough to organize events I was interested in and email me all the details I needed before he left).

Talk to me!